News and Press Releases

ESO Council President

Prof. Dr. Willy Benz, Chair of the CSH Steering Committee, has been appointed as the President of the European Southern Observatory (ESO) Council.

Exoplanets II Conference

The CSH is part of the organization and scientific leadership of the Exoplanets II conference, to be held at Cambridge University, England, from 2-6 July 2018.

CSH part of LUVOIR Mission Study

Prof. Dr. Kevin Heng is now part of the Science and Technology Definition Team (STDT) of the Large Ultraviolet/Optical/Infrared Surveyor (LUVOIR) mission study led by NASA, with representation from European members.

CSH part of TRAPPIST-1 discoveries

Prof. Dr. Brice-Olivier Demory was part of the discovery team of the TRAPPIST-1 system that hosts 7 Earth-sized exoplanets.  He and several other CSH researchers were also part of the follow-up study published by Nature Astronomy.

Bernoulli Fellowships Established

The Bernoulli Fellowships have been created by the CSH.  These are 4-year joint positions shared between the CSH and its partner institutes or universities.  Our inaugural partners in the Bernoulli Fellows are Oxford University and the Max Planck Institute for Astronomy (MPIA) at Heidelberg.

Exoplanets I Conference

The Exoplanets I conference, held at the Davos Congress Center in July 2016, has been awarded funding by the Swiss National Science Foundation (conference grant), the PlanetS NCCR and the Swiss Society of Astronomy & Astrophysics (SSAA).  The chairperson of the Scientific Organizing Committee (SOC) is Prof. Dr. Kevin Heng.