Awards & Prizes

Chambliss Astronomical Writing Award (2018)

Prof. Dr. Kevin Heng is the 2018 recipient of the Chambliss Astronomical Writing Award of the American Astronomical Society (AAS).

ERC Consolidator Grant (2017)

Prof. Dr. Kevin Heng has won an European Research Council (ERC) Consolidator Grant.  The University of Bern has two awardees, across all disciplines, in 2017.

Ambizione Fellowship (2017)

CSH Fellow Dr. Dan Bower has won the Ambizione Fellowship (2017).  It is for a duration of 4 years and comes with a Ph.D student position.

AGU Fellow (2017)

CSH Steering Committee Member Prof. Dr. Klaus Mezger was named as a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union (AGU).

Harold Urey Award (2016)

CSH Steering Committee Member Prof. Dr. Klaus Mezger has won the 2016 Harold Urey Award from the European Association of Geochemistry.

Royal Society and Ernest Rutherford Fellowships (2016)

CSH SNF Professor Brice-Olivier Demory has won both the Royal Society University Research Fellowship (2016) and the Ernest Rutherford Fellowship (2016) of the U.K.

The Gruber Foundation (TGF) Fellowship (2016)

Our incoming CSH Fellow, Maria Drozdovskaya (Leiden University), has won The Gruber Foundation (TGF) Fellowship (2016), which is administered by the International Astronomical Union (IAU), to bring to the CSH.

Marie Heim-Voegtlin Prize (2016)

Dr. Zoe Lehmann has won the Marie Heim-Voegtlin Prize for 2016.

SNSF Professorship (2016)

Dr. Brice-Olivier Demory (University of Cambridge) has won the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) Professorship with the CSH as the host institute.

NCU-Delta Award (2015)

Prof. Dr. Kevin Heng was selected for the 2015 NCU-Delta Young Astronomer Lecturership Award, which is awarded, on an international basis, to scholars under the age of 45.  It comes with a trophy and an invitation to deliver a series of prize lectures in Taiwan.

MERAC Funding and Travel Awards

Shang-Min Tsai (2018), Dr. Maria Drozdovskaya (2017), Dr. Joao Mendonca (2016), Matej Malik (2015) and Dr. Daniel Kitzmann (2015) have won the MERAC funding and travel awards, which are administered by the Swiss Society for Astronomy and Astrophysics (SSAA).

NCU-Delta Young Astronomer Lecturership Award